Dean´s Office

Currently the Faculty of Theology is headed by Dean Professor Dr. André Munzinger. Further members of the team of the Dean´s Office are Vice Dean Professor Dr. Tim Lorentzen and Professor Dr. Enno Edzard Popkes. The contact for all matters concerning studies and teaching is Professor Dr. Tim Lorentzen. 

The Dean as well as the Vice Deans were elected for a period of two years by the Faculty Convention from among their professors who are members of the Faculty Convention. They fulfil this function in addition to their primary offices. 

The multifaceted tasks of the Dean are regulated by section 30 paragraph 1 of the Universities Act. He is the head of the Faculty, prepares the resolutions of the Faculty Convention and executes them. In particular, he takes decisions on the use of personnel and material funds allocated to the Faculty and on the tasks of the Faculty staff. He informs the Faculty Convention about this. The Dean is responsible for the availability of the required teaching offers, the organization of studies and exams as well as the Practical School Studies.

The Dean at the Faculty of Theology is supported by the management and additional staff at the Dean´s Office.